Maine Pro Bono Lawyers Honored for Their Unfailing Ability to Show up Five Minutes Late and Ask For a Continuance

Maine courtroom. Maine news from the Rumford Meteor

Maine courtroom. Maine news from the Rumford MeteorThe Maine Supreme Judicial Court will honor 16 York County lawyers at noon on Tuesday, October 23, 2012 at the Biddeford District Court for their pro bono legal service to Maine’s poor and elderly.

Last year, the Maine Supreme Judicial Court created the Katahdin Counsel Recognition Program to acknowledge and recognize the hundreds of Maine lawyers who provide pro bono representation to Maine’s low-income and elderly residents. Active members of the Bar who have completed 50 hours or more of such work for the twelve-month period ending June 30, 2012, were eligible to register as a Katahdin Counsel. All qualifying attorneys will be recognized by the Supreme Judicial Court at several events across the state, and all Katahdin Counsel will receive certificates and lapel pins. They will also have the right to make use of the Katahdin Counsel designation and mark on their letterhead and printed materials.

A one-page FAQ document prepared by the Katahdin Counsel Commission is also available at the Court’s website –

The Court will honor the following lawyers from York County: Diane M. Edgecomb, Rita M. Farry, Scott David Giese, Jennifer G. Hayden, Pamela S. Holmes, Lori A, Howell, Erin O’Reilly Jakan, Amy B. McGarry, Robert M. Powers, Amanda E. Ramirez, Craig John Rancourt, R. July Simpson, Charles W. Smith, Jr., Angela M. Thibodeau, Neal Weinstein, and Russell B. White.

The Katahdin Counsel award ceremony will follow the Supreme Judicial Court’s visit to Biddeford High School earlier in the morning, beginning at 8:45 where the Court will hear appeals in three cases before the students of Biddeford High School. The court will also meet with the BHS Mock Trial Team and journalism students.

October 19, 2012
Judicial Branch